Stick Flock

October 6

We were introduced to our next project today: sculptures of birds made out of sticks and wire. We have to make two birds, and we will be graded on the best. The focus should be on the implied volume of the bird’s body and economy.

My first thought is to make two birds fighting. I guess my life just feels like a struggle right now.

October 11

I changed my mind about the fighting birds. I’ve been watching Grandpa’s hummingbirds outside the kitchen window every morning, and I’d like to make them instead.

I found some dried, burnt-looking sticks (oak?) outside the classroom, so I set about making a hummer. Here’s what I came up with:

fullsizerender-22fullsizerender-23

October 13

I wanted to make a partner for the first hummingbird, but I wanted to make it very contrastingly different. I found some fresh, flexible willow saplings and bent it around the shape of the body. I also tried something different by adding leaves on the wings, but I’m not sure how I feel about it. I still want to put some in the tail as well.

fullsizerender-25fullsizerender-26

Here is the pair together. They will be hanging from the ceiling when I’m finished.

fullsizerender-24

 

Leave a comment